3/14

I initially was going to make this post grill themed, because lets be honest my little family loves their grill .. A lot.
But while I was doing my research for this post, I found SO MANY good non-grill related recipes that I will save that theme for another time… Don’t worry it will happen in due time…

Apple 

Apple Brownies

A few weeks ago I shared this Apple Fritter Bread recipe, and I am going to share it again just to reiterate that it is that AMAZING! If you haven’t tried it, do it. I promise you wont regret it.
Apple Fritter Bread

Avocado

Several of avocado’s this contribution period will be going in my little guy’s tummy (baby food.)

But I will also be “sneaking” them into these tasty cookies… The recipe that I “shared” below calls for dark chocolate chips/chunks and also dark coco powder…and well I don’t have either on hand… so I’ll let you know how they turn out.
 Avocado Chocolate Cookies

Banana 

When I am looking for recipes I try to find ones that call for using multiple items from the basket, this one has both banana’s and blueberries. VICTORY!
Buttermilk Banana Blueberry Bread

Banana Chips

Slice banana into thin chips, dip in lemon juice, and spread on a cookie sheet. Bake for 2 hours @ 200 degrees and flip. Bake for another 1.5-2 hours or until crisp. Homemade banana chips!

Blueberry 

Chili Peppers (green) & (sweet)

This recipe is our favorite go-to recipes, but the writer here over complicates it a little bit. You don’t need use 3 separate pans, in fact we actually think it tastes better having every thing in the same skillet pan.

Freezing them: I shared this earlier on the Lakefield foods Facebook page but I thought I would share it here also. 
Clean the peppers/ chilis. Cut them into desired size. Place into pint or quart size freezer bags. Put in freezer. I usually 2 cups in my bags because that is what a lot of recipes will call for. 

Cucumber 

Romaine

Mango

Pear

One of my first Bountiful Baskets experiences, last fall they had the option to contribute towards 20lb (?) of some variety of pears. My lovely friend Angelika got them and then decided they were too much for her and her family so she gave us several bags of pears. So we canned them. We love them!! So much that we actually bought a box of pears from one of our Local 4-Hers, so we can process more, because we ate all of the other ones…
 Canning Pears

– Most recipes (Crisps, bread, cakes, pies etc.) you can substitute apples for pears.

Caramelized Pear Upside Down Cake

Tomato (grape)

Leave a Reply

